#StayFreeChallenge

I don’t even know how to begin with this post.

“Hi, my name is Heather and I have a weak bladder.”

“Hi, my name’s Heather and I pee a little if I cough too hard.”

“Hi, I’m Heather. And I’d like to talk to you about something that affects 25-45% of women.” Yep. that’s the one….here we go:

Hi, I’m Heather. And I’d like to talk to you about something that affects 25-45% of women. Bladder leakage.

I never knew that doing kegel exercises while pregnant (or even before becoming pregnant) would have been a great benefit to me later in life. Sexual life aside, kegels would have helped strengthen my pelvic muscles; which in turn hold up the bladder.

But, according to WebMD it is never to late to start and it can be beneficial for both men and women who suffer from urinary incontinence.

Here’s a great link to check out if you’d like to know more:

Urinary Incontinence: Kegel Exercises for Pelvic Muscles

I totally blame my kids for wrecking my body. I gained 98lbs with my son, lost 40 and gained back 40lbs with my daughter (they were 16 months apart so there wasn’t much time to get a better hold on things). I had to have emergency C-sections with both which I also blame for some of my internal issues.

I used to think it was funny to make my friend laugh so hard she’d pee herself.

Now I realize I was totally cruel, especially when my kids do it to me. Now, my husband laughs at me. Guess pay back is due. LOL.

The reality of the situation is, after having kids my bladder is not what it used to be. Whether it was from gaining too much weight, from the C-sections, whatever…the situation is…I sometimes have bladder leakage which is not controllable.

I wear a pad or panty liner 24/7. Not very sexy I know but they do go well with the granny panties that I love and have worn for years. LOL

I refuse to buy bladder leakage branded products because I am trying my best to avoid feeling old, which I do equate with having to buy bladder leakage products. Which is dumb. Why am I so embarrassed by it? Why do others think it is embarrassing or funny?

I find it really sad that I see many peers and adults laughing and making fun of people for health issues or situations that are out of their control. Even more so, I find it sad that I feel so embarrassed by it that it has taken me this long to speak out about it.

I think it’s time to grow up and stop feeling ashamed of our bodies and it’s time to stop feeling embarrassed of things that our out of our control.

And I definitely think it is time to start treating others with compassion and empathy.

The Stayfree Challenge is more geared towards periods and making sure we stay comfortable and dry during our monthly visit from “Aunt Flo”. No woman wants to be out at a function during “that time of the month” and have leakage occur…imagine combining that with bladder leakage?! (it’s not fun I tell ya)

However, because I use pads and liners on a daily basis and not just during my periods I wanted to touch on the topic of bladder leakage first as it affects so many women. I hope you don’t mind!

So, on with the challenge!

This Stayfree Challenge post has been made possible thanks to Mommy’s Weird !

13161338_780637128755461_1712222015_o.jpg

I don’t know about you, but, I’m not a big fan of using tampons during my period. There have been too many times when I used the wrong flow type tampon or times when they just didn’t feel right. So, for the majority of my current 26+ years of being blessed to be a woman, I have used pads and panty liners during my periods.

As years have advanced, so has science and the development of better products.

I remember when I first started having my period and how big and bulky the pads were. They never stayed in place and they bulged to the point where I, *ahem*, started wearing a girdle to hold it better in place. I hated (and still do) wearing pads. But, they are getting better! They are becoming thinner, more comfortable, with better holding wings and more importantly better absorbing material.

Since I wear pad products for 2 reasons (my period and bladder leakage) I was excited to do this challenge to see how my current products stand up to the test against a name brand like Stayfree, who has been around for as long as I can remember. “Stayfree is currently owned by Energizer, which purchased the femine hygiene business from Johnson & Johnson.” ~Wikipedia

Let’s see how things go:

Stayfree Ultra Thin pads are made with a flexible-fit design and thermocontrol technology that offer a feminine hygiene product which will allow you to stay comfortable, dry and mobile throughout the day.

Materials needed to do this challenge:

  • One placement sheet
  • Stayfree Ultrathin Pads
  • My current pad products (pad is a store brand and panty liner is a name brand)
  • 5ml of blue saline liquid (yellow or red would have been so wrong to use!) for each pad product
  • Blotting sheets
  • Acetate Sheets
  • and a hardcover book (I used 3 for extra weight)

Steps of the Challenge

  1. Place pads on the Stayfree Challenge sheet.
  2. Pour 5ml on 1st pad. Wait 30 seconds
  3. Apply absorbing pad on top of wetted area, followed by an acetate sheet.
  4. Place books on top and press down gently for 5 seconds…ooops I pressed firmly!
  5. Remove the book and check your results.
  6. Repeat with competitor pads.
  7. Compare results!

challengepic1

 

My Results of the Challenge:

As you can see from the images above, Stayfree is definitely top winner even from before putting pressure on top of it!

Let’s continue on…….

pad2.jpg

Obviously it is time that my current pad needs to be retired.

I didn’t stop there with the challenge though, oh no…I continued on……..

pads4.jpg

So, if you are looking for a good quality pad, I definitely recommend that you try using Stayfree Ultra Thin pads for your next period!

13161413_780636795422161_764438869_o.jpg

Thanks for being a part of my Stayfree Challenge!

#StayfreeChallengeContest  This post is in part thanks to Kyla from Mommy’s Weird. Check her out, she’s the bomb!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About ChaosAndSilence

#100LBWeightLossJourney New to Blogging Newbie Gamer on Twitch. Avid Contester Mother to 2, Wife of 6 years. Baking, photography, dancing, hiking, etc.

Posted on May 9, 2016, in Product Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

KetchupMoms

All about kids and parents

Bestdayblogger

Be Beautiful Inside and Out!

Raindrops and Sunshine

A Lifestyle Family Friendly Blog, With A Touch Of Special Needs!

Canadian Gift Guide

Gift ideas you can actually buy in Canada

Mama Moose Contests & Reviews

Product Reviews with Green Family Living and a Contest or Two

Frugal Canadian Coupon Mom

DIY/Money Savers, Reviews, Recipes, Seaglass and more..

onmywaytoaten

My weightloss journey and my path to being a fit and healthy woman.

Adventures of a Military Family of 8

No Anchor Can Hold Us Down...

Carin Cress

Living a Healthy Life with Fibro & Endo

Momma on a Mission

This is me...What I do, who I am, and my hopes and dreams.

Chelsweets

A little bit Chelsey, a whole lot of sweet!

dukanchange

You can change: I can change.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

staceyaltamirano

a wife and mother living abroad

