Lemon Eclair Cake – Oh Yes!

Lemon Eclair Cake – Oh Yes!

 

 

 

IMG_20150106_211811[1]

 

Years ago Tim Horton’s had a “donut” called a lemon eclair. It was my favorite item on their menu.

Then they started phasing it off their menu. Much to my disappointment.

I didn’t think I would ever find a lemon dessert (other than my graham crust lemon pie) that I enjoyed as much as those lemon eclairs.

Last October I decided to make a cake for my sister-in-law for her birthday. On a whim I concocted my own “recipe” combination and the result was AMAZING!

It tasted EXACTLY like the lemon eclairs !

This recipe is NOT something I recommend eating often, nor to have more than one piece of it.

Which I can tell you is not an easy thing to avoid doing!

It is not a clean eating recipe and it is not 100% homemade. But, it is 100% awesome.

Here’s some pictures and the recipe!

Lemon Eclair Cake

Follow the recipe for the “One Egg Cake”.

But, instead of baking it in a 9X13 pan.   Bake it on a medium

sized cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

i found that my cake took about 20-25 minutes to bake.

IMG_20150106_165311[1]

It should come out looking a bit like this:

IMG_20150106_165049[1]

 

My cake was a bit uneven. After cutting the cake in half I flipped it over, took a knife to slice off the uneven bit and laid the cake part (that I sliced off) onto the other side where it needed to be leveled out. You do not have to do this, but, I didn’t want to waste any cake!

The next part involves Dr Oetker’s Shirriff Original Lemon Pie Filling and Dessert Mix and Betty Crocker’s Whipped Fluffy White Icing.

(Prepare the lemon filling according to directions wile your cake is cooling!)

IMG_20150106_165210[1]

Now, it’s time to construct the cake!

IMG_20150106_191709[1]

 

After the lemon filling has cooled to the point that it is thickening up and not as runny. Spread it evenly (as possible) over the first layer of cake. I find that about 1/2 – 3/4 of the filling is used for this part. Then carefully put the other half of cake on top of the filling to make a “sandwich”.

Please note **** I do not suggest pushing down. ****

Open your icing tub and stir with a spoon. Cover your whole cake (sides too!) with the frosting.

This should use all or nearly all of the tub.

Although not necessary, I wanted to use up all my lemon filling so this time I decided to put the rest of it on top of the cake as well! Lemony goodness!

IMG_20150106_192318[1]

 

Now it’s time to enjoy a slice!

IMG_20150106_211758[2]

If you try this recipe please let me know! Hopefully you will enjoy it as much as I do!

 

 

About ChaosAndSilence

#100LBWeightLossJourney New to Blogging Newbie Gamer on Twitch. Avid Contester Mother to 2, Wife of 6 years. Baking, photography, dancing, hiking, etc.

Posted on January 8, 2015, in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Looks like a tummy easy dessert!! I must try 🙂

  2. This cake looks really good. Believe this cake looks along the line of a poppyseed cake I’ve made in the past.

  3. Rosanne Robinson

    Oh my goodness this cake looks sooooooo delicious, I’d LOVE a piece right now please!!!

Leave a Reply

Husband and Wife Co-op Gaming Team!!!

Dual Perspective Streaming and Gaming Couple

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

KetchupMoms

All about kids and parents

Bestdayblogger

Be Beautiful Inside and Out!

Raindrops and Sunshine

A Lifestyle Family Friendly Blog, With A Touch Of Special Needs!

Canadian Gift Guide

Gift ideas you can actually buy in Canada

Mama Moose Contests & Reviews

Product Reviews with Green Family Living and a Contest or Two

Frugal Canadian Coupon Mom

DIY/Money Savers, Reviews, Recipes, Seaglass and more..

onmywaytoaten

My weightloss journey and my path to being a fit and healthy woman.

Adventures of a Military Family of 8

No Anchor Can Hold Us Down...

Carin Cress

Living a Healthy Life with Fibro & Endo

Momma on a Mission

This is me...What I do, who I am, and my hopes and dreams.

Chelsweets

A little bit Chelsey, a whole lot of sweet!

dukanchange

You can change: I can change.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

