#100LBWeightLossJourney – Healthy Snacks Edition – Product Review

I’m always on the look-out for new snack ideas, or rather, healthier snack options.

That being said, not all “healthy” snacks are actually as “healthy” as they claim to be. Low Fat snacks are not always better for you, nor are products made with aspartame as a sugar alternative necessarily any better for you (I try to avoid products containing aspartame or that claim to be “no fat/low fat” actually). There are many different studies and arguments out there trying to convince you one way or the other, I figure the best thing to do is to educate yourself and make your *own* decisions on what you want to put in your body.

Let me be the first to admit, I do not like “healthy” foods.

I even cringe when people suggest new things for me to try. I am fussy, stuck in my ways/habits, and I like what I like. I am not fond of trying new things and usually I avoid doing so, even when multiple people say that something tastes great or is “to die for”.

I’ve slowly begun to spread my wings. I have begun to find “healthier”  snack options(then my normal choices) that I do enjoy.

Photo credit: jazzijava / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

Photo credit: jazzijava / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

 When I make muffins I use fruit(that I have packaged and frozen without additives), spinach (for my green boost), ground flax seed, chia seed, and I use half white / half whole wheat flour.

I also have found that I like Sweet Chili Brown Rice Chips.

Which I *think* are a bit healthier alternative to regular chips..though I could be wrong!

The other thing I have found that I enjoy having prepped and ready to go in little containers is a fruit/nut snack mix.

Photo credit: mealmakeovermoms / Foter / CC BY-ND

Photo credit: mealmakeovermoms / Foter / CC BY-ND

I have  started making my own snack mix, though mine does look a little different then the one above. I usually put in: dried pineapple, dried bananas, dried cranberries, dried mango, cashews, peanuts and sometimes corn bran cereal (though this does get a bit stale as it absorbs moisture as it sits).

As I am always on the hunt for new tings to try, I am also on the look out for FREE things to try. And finally one day I spotted it, a giveaway that was PERFECT for me!

This giveaway was being  hosted by Kaley Davies on facebook.

Kaley Davies facebook page is (and I quote straight from their page): ” Where Canadians come to save money, learn to coupon,freebies,giveaways,DIY,recipes, reviews, social media, brand promotion, online marketing and more!~”.

If you have not checked out their page please do!! Always some wonderful giveaways and contests being posted.

I have won from a few that I found through them.

Thank you Kaley & Karen for all the hard work you do!!

Anyhoo, back to my winning!

Yes, I won a contest….and I am truly excited about this win!
Why, you may ask…well, let me tell you.

1) It’s taking me outside my comfort zone when it comes to snacking
2) It’s giving me the opportunity to try, and honestly review a product I normally would NEVER have considered trying.
3) I don’t have to purchase the product to try it, because I won it!!
4) I need help finding healthier snacking options that can replace my love of chips.
5) And, most importantly, I get to share my new found healthy snack LOVE with you!!!!

Now…..to the prize….

I received a selection of products from a company called: Way Better Snacks

I was so excited to try them that I forgot to take a photo first, hence the opened bag. LOL!

I was so excited to try them that I forgot to take a photo first, hence the opened bag. LOL!

I received 5 bags of tortilla chips:

Simply Unbeatable Blues
Simply Sweet Potato
Simply Sunny Multi-Grain
Simply Beyond Black Bean
Simply So Sweet Chili

Of course, not thinking to leave “the best for last”, I opened the bag that had my favorite seasoning on it.

IMG_20140917_001150
Simply So Sweet Chili.

IMG_20140916_081644

Now, looking into the bag, it looks extremely empty.

I was a little skeptical at the amount inside the bag (156 grams)….until… I pulled out a chip.

IMG_20140916_081658

They’re HUGE!

You know how most times you can fit a whole regular potato chip in your mouth?

(haha, I know I know, you shouldn’t just shove a whole chip in your mouth, but, we’ve all done it!)

Well, with these corn tortilla chips, you have to take a few bites first, they are just too big!

And, not only are they a good sized tortilla chip, they are FILLED with healthy goodness!! 

IMG_20140917_001340

When I first opened the box of snacks,  I read the info on the included information sheets about the products.

IMG_20140917_001218

I learned more about what the chips were actually made of and what their nutrition stats were. I have to say that although the ingredient lists kinda turned me off (remember, I am a NON Health food girl), the nutritional benefits definitely got my attention and interest.

Here’s a little information regarding the nutritional benefits taken straight from Way Better Snacks :

SPROUTING SUPER FACTS

  • Converts starch into simple sugars making them easy to digest
  • Converts protein into amino acids which are vital for vibrant health
  • Converts fat into fatty acids to help keep your cells happy
  • Concentrate vitamins, minerals, enzymes, and amino acids
  • Antioxidants and Vitamins can increase as much as 1000%
  • Enzymes can increase as much as 800%
  • The ratio of soluble to insoluble fiber is better
  • Helps neutralize and remove waste from the body
  • Contain anticancer substances
  • Coenzymes are created to more effectively absorb Omega 3′s
  • The SGS (that’s the good stuff!) in Broccoli seeds is up to 50 times higher than in mature broccoli
  • Maximizes nutrient density and is readily bio-available
  • Daikon Radish seeds contain high levels of anti-cancer glucoraphenin

You can find this information and more on their website: http://gowaybetter.com/sprouting/

Finally, it was time to take the plunge and try this “crazy, healthy, snack food”.

IMG_20140916_081622

All it took was one bite and I was hooked!

The Sweet Chili flavor definitely has a bit of kick to them, so I wouldn’t recommend them for everyone. But, the residual flavor reminded me of corn chips that I used to eat as a kid, and that is definitely okay in my books!

Now, the serving size suggests 11 chips….normally with a regular big bag of potato chips (which is like, 260 grams or something close to that I think), I’ll sit and eat the whole bag…So, how was a serving size of 11 chips going to fair?

Way Better Snacks have  tiptoed into a market that has lots of competition, but, one thing they’ve got to reach the top?

They’ve totally nailed it!

I didn’t even need the full serving size to feel satisfied in my “snacking” moment. I took maybe 5-6 out of the bag and had them along with a bottle of water and that was it! I was satisfied and did NOT feel like I needed more to snack on.

I am SO very excited about this, you have no idea. A healthy snack that satisfies me BEFORE I eat the whole serving? #awesomeness !!

Keep in mind this review will be ongoing as I try each of the flavors and will come back to let you know if I enjoy them just as much.

So, please stay tuned!!!

But, for now, you can rest assured that I am thrilled to be adding Way Better Snacks to my  list of healthy snack alternatives, while on my #100LBWeightLossJourney .

About ChaosAndSilence

#100LBWeightLossJourney New to Blogging Newbie Gamer on Twitch. Avid Contester Mother to 2, Wife of 6 years. Baking, photography, dancing, hiking, etc.

Posted on September 20, 2014, in Click HERE to read my day to day posts of my "100LB WeightLoss Journey ", Product Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

KetchupMoms

All about kids and parents

Bestdayblogger

Be Beautiful Inside and Out!

Raindrops and Sunshine

A Lifestyle Family Friendly Blog, With A Touch Of Special Needs!

Canadian Gift Guide

Gift ideas you can actually buy in Canada

Mama Moose Contests & Reviews

Product Reviews with Green Family Living and a Contest or Two

Frugal Canadian Coupon Mom

DIY/Money Savers, Reviews, Recipes, Seaglass and more..

onmywaytoaten

My weightloss journey and my path to being a fit and healthy woman.

Adventures of a Military Family of 8

No Anchor Can Hold Us Down...

Carin Cress

Living a Healthy Life with Fibro & Endo

Momma on a Mission

This is me...What I do, who I am, and my hopes and dreams.

Chelsweets

A little bit Chelsey, a whole lot of sweet!

dukanchange

You can change: I can change.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

staceyaltamirano

a wife and mother living abroad

