The Best Chocolate Cake I’ve EVER Made….No…Seriously…It Was!!!!!

There’s something to say about a good, moist, chocolaty cake. Rich, fluffy, and stick to your ribs goodness.

Healthy chocolate cake

Picture Credit – Photograph: Caroline Russock via Serious Eats
Click on the photo to visit their blog and get the recipe for this “healthy” chocolate cake. A great recipe for getting veggies into your kids!

 

Here it was Easter Sunday and my kids and I were celebrating Easter alone. My husband had to work and my family and I had decided not to get together again as we had just celebrated my daughter’s birthday the previous week.

I normally do not bake many cakes, only on birthdays, as it is much cheaper then buying a cake, and normally I do not like the taste of the “buttercream” icing that stores use…quite honestly all I taste is oil by-products and to me, that is just disgusting.

So, wanting something sweet to go with our ham and potatoes, I decided to look up “chocolate cake recipes”, which lead me to search “the best chocolate cake recipe ever” . These recipes were disappointing to say the least. Most contained ingredients that I normally do not have on hand (like sour cream, espresso, cream cheese, etc) and do not like to add in to what I consider to be a normal recipe that should not be tampered with.

I like basic, easy, “old school” recipes that do not need any added “foo-foo” to make it taste better, because it is pure and amazing on its own.

So, I tried one last search – “easy chocolate cake recipes” and there it was….

Easy Made From Scratch You Can’t Stop Eating It Chocolate Cake” via Fabulessly Frugal 

This was it…basic ingredients, easy enough recipe…pictures looked great…must be a winner.

So, I got to work measuring out my ingredients and making sure my pans/tools were ready to go – this is such a helper when it comes to baking/cooking, pre-measuring out your ingredients and getting all your tools(bowls, measuring cups, spatulas, etc) ready ahead of time; especially when there is an extra step in a recipe that you are not used to and is a bit time sensitive.

This chocolate cake recipe has got to be my favorite that I have ever made and will definitely be my go-to recipe for chocolate cakes/cupcakes. It is moist, fluffy, and uber chocolaty; AND leaves you feeling fulfilled after just one slice, though you may just be tempted to make it an extra large slice!

The BEST Chocolate Cake Ever

Ingredients

  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup boiling water

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour two 9 inch cake pans                                                                      (I used a bundt cake pan and increased bake time to 45 minutes)
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl gently mix the eggs, milk, oil and vanilla (About 20-30 seconds)
  4. Add your milk mixture to the flour mixture and mix for about 2.5 to 3 minutes with an electric mixer.
  5. Stir in the boiling water by hand                                                                                                                                                                 (At first, the batter will look runny, but, eventually it all mixes in nice and it thickens up a bit)
  6. Pour evenly into the greased pan(s). 
  7. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.                                                                 (For the a bundt pan (which I used) or a 9×13 cake pan, bake it for about 40-45 minutes)                                                             (If you insert a toothpick, it should come out clean and sometimes with a few cakey bits on it)
  8. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to cool completely.                                                                                                       (This is important to keep your cake from falling apart/sticking to the pan. I also use a knife/flat spatula to gently release the sides of the cake from the pan. * I do not usually like leaving cakes in pans as I find it changes the texture/moisture of them, but, that is up to you.)
  9. There are many things you could add to this cake, but, we enjoyed it immensely on it’s own. But for a variation you could add whipped topping or ice cream instead of icing.

****Please note – I used a package of pre-made icing found in the new Duncan Hines cupcake box mixes….this icing is AMAZING for pre-made.

Here is a recipe for frosting that you can use instead – (I did not test this one, but Fabulessly Frugal states that they liked using a little less cocoa when they made it, so the adjust the recipe to your tastes!)

Homemade Chocolate Butter Cream Frosting

 Ingredients
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 5 1/3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Cream butter until light and fluffy.
  2. Stir in the cocoa and confectioners’ sugar alternately with the milk and vanilla.
  3. Beat to a spreading consistency.

I must apologize -I did have nice pictures taken but, my little girl seems to have deleted some of my photos from my phone by accident, and all I am left with is  week old cake that has been sitting on the counter for a day, waiting to meet the compost. So for that I do hope you forgive me. The next time I make it I will replace this photo with nicer and more appealing ones! LOL.

Definitely keep this cake covered and refrigerated and it will last a week or more. We just happen to be all chocolated out at this point to be able to finish it and I had not thought to freeze it.

PS: I added about 1tbsp extra cocoa. 

Image

Please give this recipe a chance and come back and let me know how it turned out for you!

                                                                                                                  ~Heather xoxoxoxox

About ChaosAndSilence

#100LBWeightLossJourney New to Blogging Newbie Gamer on Twitch. Avid Contester Mother to 2, Wife of 6 years. Baking, photography, dancing, hiking, etc.

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. looks sooo niceee, would have to drink alot of water after eating the cake. 😀

    • Or some milk 🙂 But yes, I had a bottle of water on hand after finishing a slice and upped my exercise that day too! 🙂

      • haha I would definitely have to exercise after this piece of cake for sure and a 1.5lr bottle of water for me. ICE COLD as well 😀

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

KetchupMoms

All about kids and parents

Bestdayblogger

Be Beautiful Inside and Out!

Raindrops and Sunshine

A Lifestyle Family Friendly Blog, With A Touch Of Special Needs!

Canadian Gift Guide

Gift ideas you can actually buy in Canada

Mama Moose Contests & Reviews

Product Reviews with Green Family Living and a Contest or Two

Frugal Canadian Coupon Mom

DIY/Money Savers, Reviews, Recipes, Seaglass and more..

onmywaytoaten

My weightloss journey and my path to being a fit and healthy woman.

Adventures of a Military Family of 8

No Anchor Can Hold Us Down...

Carin Cress

Living a Healthy Life with Fibro & Endo

Momma on a Mission

This is me...What I do, who I am, and my hopes and dreams.

Chelsweets

A little bit Chelsey, a whole lot of sweet!

dukanchange

You can change: I can change.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

staceyaltamirano

a wife and mother living abroad

