BAS Muffins – A “Healthier” Snack Option that tastes GREAT!

Okay, So I made some muffins last week….and I wanted to make them healthier because I am trying to cut out certain things, like white stuff (white flour, white rice, etc) and trying to add in more veggies and fruit.

So, I took a recipe that is original for zucchini bread, and is used as the base recipe for muffins for the preschool that my little girl goes to (Thanks Cindy!)….and I tweaked the recipe to make it even more healthier so that I would be able to have them for breakfast and snacks without adding in too much extra sugar and fat.

Here’s The original recipe:

2 cups flour
1-2 cups sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3 tsp cinnamon

2 eggs
1 cup oil
2-3 tsp vanilla
2 cups zucchini

Bake 350 degrees for 30 minutes for large muffins….maybe 1 hr for loaves???

Here’s my edited version:

Banana Apple & Spinach Muffins (BAS Muffins)

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup white flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger

2 eggs
1/2 c EVOO
1/8 c canola oil
3 tsp vanilla
2 (heaping) cups of pureed fruit/veggies ( I used 3 bananas, 1 apple with skin and approx 1/4 cup spinach; the spinach was about 1 to 1 1/2 cups before being cooked down)

I baked them at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

And this is what they looked like when they came out of the oven. Yup…kind of green looking, but don’t let the color fool you!

DSCF8282

I couldn’t even wait till they cooled down to try one! They were so delicious!! I am going to be making more in a day or so because my little girl loves them too!

Let me know what you think!!

About ChaosAndSilence

#100LBWeightLossJourney New to Blogging Newbie Gamer on Twitch. Avid Contester Mother to 2, Wife of 6 years. Baking, photography, dancing, hiking, etc.

Posted on October 27, 2013, in Click HERE to read my day to day posts of my "100LB WeightLoss Journey ", Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Husband and Wife Co-op Gaming Team!!!

Dual Perspective Streaming and Gaming Couple

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

KetchupMoms

All about kids and parents

Bestdayblogger

Be Beautiful Inside and Out!

Raindrops and Sunshine

A Lifestyle Family Friendly Blog, With A Touch Of Special Needs!

Canadian Gift Guide

Gift ideas you can actually buy in Canada

Mama Moose Contests & Reviews

Product Reviews with Green Family Living and a Contest or Two

Frugal Canadian Coupon Mom

DIY/Money Savers, Reviews, Recipes, Seaglass and more..

onmywaytoaten

My weightloss journey and my path to being a fit and healthy woman.

Adventures of a Military Family of 8

No Anchor Can Hold Us Down...

Carin Cress

Living a Healthy Life with Fibro & Endo

Momma on a Mission

This is me...What I do, who I am, and my hopes and dreams.

Chelsweets

A little bit Chelsey, a whole lot of sweet!

dukanchange

You can change: I can change.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

