I Entered an Apple Pie Contest – What The Heck Was I thinking?

Well, every September brings our little town’s Ciderfest festival. Usually starts on Thursday and runs till Sunday.

Bridgetown Ciderfest usually has something for everyone.
The list of events always seem to include:

* Apple Pie Contest
* Cardboard Boat Reggatta
* Parades
* Car Rally
* Rubber Duck Race
etc etc etc.

This year they have new events. I have entered myself and my little boy into the photography contest. Am super excited about this one!

Every year I keep saying I am going to enter the apple pie contest..even though I have never made an apple pie in my life! And every year I never enter.
Well, this year I vowed would be the year that I would get it done and enter!

DSCF7783

I Entered an Apple Pie Contest – What The Heck Was I thinking?

DSCF7780

I practiced making some pies with pre-made dough the week before. Definitely learnt some lessons for making the innards. The apple I had chosen was definitely not flavorful enough to be cooked.(I later found out that Gravenstein is the one to choose).

So I did some research….looked online for recipes…talked to the dough lady at the local farmer’s market.

*brief interruption* Okay so I need to stop with my story for a moment and tell you about the dough lady…OMGoodness! She’s amazing. Not only is she sweet and genuine…she is knowledgeable AND makes amazing pie dough!! She bought the recipe from a chef a few years ago, had it tested by food personnel and students at a local college. Then she designed her logo/brand/slogan/etc and got herself trademarked. Now she sells not only pre-made pies and patio pies, she sells her dough – vacuum sealed! You get two balls of dough which can either make (1) 2 crust pie or (2) 1 crust pies. Because it is vacuum sealed it will last in the fridge for 6 months and in the freezer for up to 1yr!
Because this was my first time making a pie using “fresh” dough, I was terrified, but, she said it was foolproof. I made 2 single crust pies and other then the innards not being what I had hoped for….the crust was amazing! Cooked perfectly! ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay so, now back to my story:

With some new tips and knowledge about making pies I decided to embark on my first ever from scratch making of pies. Now, I wasn’t looking to make pretty looking pies….I just wanted them to taste good! ๐Ÿ™‚

I used this recipe and made some adaptations.

I used this recipe and made some adaptations.


(If you want to know what adaptations I made feel free to ask and I will get it all typed up for you!)

So, I first made a small test pie with the help of my 4yr old little girl….

My little girl. She LOVES to bake.

My little girl. She LOVES to bake.

I decided to show some pictures of what things looked like along the way, as well as to give you some tips that I learnt!

Tip #1 - When measuring your flour, spoon it into the measuring cup loosely - without packing it down or using a knife to level it off.

Tip #1 – When measuring your flour, spoon it into the measuring cup loosely – without packing it down or using a knife to level it off.

Use shortening instead of butter...butter is made up of 15% water and throws off the balance of moisture in the dough.  See below for more info on this tip!

Tip #2 – Use shortening instead of butter…butter is made up of 15% water and throws off the balance of moisture in the dough.
See below for more info on this tip!

Okay so I found a printed a little “book” on how to make pies..this is where I learnt a lot about making the crusts.

Visit: The Prepared Pantry to get your little “book” of tips and recipes! (ps: I have no affiliation with them and did not get paid or receive anything from them to post this)

Use a pastry cutter to cut in the shortening until it resembles peas. Tip #2 - I use knives as I do not have a pastry cutter...and although it  may take longer, it still gets the job done!

Use a pastry cutter to cut in the shortening until it resembles peas.
Tip #3 – I use knives as I do not have a pastry cutter…and although it may take longer, it still gets the job done!

Tip #4 - Use the coldest products you can. Trying to keep the dough cool and the ingredients cool is very important...I think this was included in the above mentioned "book" on how to make pies.

Tip #4 – Use the coldest products you can. Trying to keep the dough cool and the ingredients cool is very important…I think this was included in the above mentioned “book” on how to make pies.

Tip #5 Mix your salt and water together in a  small bowl BEFORE adding to your flour. AND, if you are like me and like a sweet dough, you should add your sugar to the water and dissolve it as well.

Tip # 6 Mix your salt and water together in a small bowl BEFORE adding to your flour. AND, if you are like me and like a sweet dough, you should add your sugar to the water and dissolve it as well.

While your dough is chilling (Tip #6 - should be chilled at least 45 minutes.), get your other "pie parts" ready. This picture is of my dry ingredients to toss the apples in. I added a bit extra cinnamon..and I did not have nutmeg so I decided to use ginger instead.

While your dough is chilling (Tip #6 – should be chilled at least 45 minutes.), get your other “pie parts” ready. This picture is of my dry ingredients to toss the apples in. I added a bit extra cinnamon..and I did not have nutmeg so I decided to use ginger instead.

Tip #7 - Soak your apples in different stages to prevent as much browning as possible. Water & lemon juice are your friend!

Tip #7 – Soak your apples in different stages to prevent as much browning as possible. Water & lemon juice are your friend!

Our test pie, all cooked!

Our test pie, all cooked!

and then ……………..

I proceeded to let my little guy make his to be entered into the contest as well….hey, why not? LOL.

Scooping the flour with a spoon. We had to do it twice because he decided to stick the spoon into the measuring cup...LOL.

Scooping the flour with a spoon. We had to do it twice because he decided to stick the spoon into the measuring cup…LOL.

Our "pea size" crumbles of shortening/dough.

Our “pea size” crumbles of shortening/dough.

Tip # 8 - You can add a layer of cake/bread crumbs to the bottom of your crust to help soak up fluids. Here we are adding a layer of graham crumbs to hopefully prevent having a soggy bottom.

Tip # 8 – You can add a layer of cake/bread crumbs to the bottom of your crust to help soak up fluids.
Here we are adding a layer of graham crumbs to hopefully prevent having a soggy bottom.

Draining the apples as he places them in the crust.

Draining the apples as he places them in the crust.

Almost ready for the oven. Apple mixture, brown sugar sauce already in it..now to top it off with our graham crumb mixture!

Almost ready for the oven. Apple mixture, brown sugar sauce already in it..now to top it off with our graham crumb mixture!

Ready for the oven!

Ready for the oven!

Out of the oven! Here's hoping!!! We won't find out till tomorrow!

Out of the oven! Here’s hoping!!! We won’t find out till tomorrow!

And tomorrow morning I will be making another pie which will be the one I enter into the contest for my entry…..because my test pie….came out AWESOME!!!!!! I have already had a slice and I am trying not to go back to have another as I just started back on my weightloss journey…dang pie contest…LOL…

This is my slice from our test pie...oh my goodness it was delicious!

This is my slice from our test pie…oh my goodness it was delicious!

It wouldn’t be a day in our house unless something weird happened…my little girl wanted to play with the left over dough and graham crumbs….and I said sure why not….

Uh, Oh, impish grin.....she's up to something.....

Uh, Oh, impish grin…..she’s up to something…..

Well, she started eating the graham crumb mixture……

DSCF7833

DSCF7834

And then…………………………………………………………………………………

She broke out in an allergic reaction on her chin and arm!!!!

She broke out in an allergic reaction on her chin and arm!!!!

So, I gave her some Benadryl and tossed her right into the tub….not sure what caused that reaction…maybe the cinnamon?? Yikes. Guess I won’t be letting her play with baking scraps anymore!

Well, I need to get some sleep if I am making another pie tomorrow morning amidst the normal daily chaos and the chaos of things already planned for tomorrow….somebody save me!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*fingers crossed that my pie comes out well tomorrow!!*

About ChaosAndSilence

#100LBWeightLossJourney New to Blogging Newbie Gamer on Twitch. Avid Contester Mother to 2, Wife of 6 years. Baking, photography, dancing, hiking, etc.

Posted on September 11, 2013, in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Update! My pie sold for $17 and my little guy his pie went for $20!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Still nibbling on the last one in the fridge! Not bad for a first attempt!

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

KetchupMoms

All about kids and parents

Bestdayblogger

Be Beautiful Inside and Out!

Raindrops and Sunshine

A Lifestyle Family Friendly Blog, With A Touch Of Special Needs!

Canadian Gift Guide

Gift ideas you can actually buy in Canada

Mama Moose Contests & Reviews

Product Reviews with Green Family Living and a Contest or Two

Frugal Canadian Coupon Mom

DIY/Money Savers, Reviews, Recipes, Seaglass and more..

onmywaytoaten

My weightloss journey and my path to being a fit and healthy woman.

Adventures of a Military Family of 8

No Anchor Can Hold Us Down...

Carin Cress

Living a Healthy Life with Fibro & Endo

Momma on a Mission

This is me...What I do, who I am, and my hopes and dreams.

Chelsweets

A little bit Chelsey, a whole lot of sweet!

dukanchange

You can change: I can change.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

staceyaltamirano

a wife and mother living abroad

