“Sea sLime” Cookies – Baking Post #1

DSCF5989

Okay, so, when I was signed up to make something for my little girl’s preschool “Under The Sea” party, I had NO idea what kind of a snack I was going to make. I sat and searched online for some “inspirational” recipes. I was drawing blanks….I didn’t want to make anything with any kind of fish in it (tuna included) as I do not like the smell of fish……a friend of mine was already using goldfish crackers, so that was out….ack! I had to make something that used the ingredients I already had on hand and I just wasn’t finding anything that would work.

Then I searched for a cookie recipe using jello and thinking of a ocean theme….”Sea sLime” cookies were then created.

DSCF5976

In hind-sight I wish I would’ve taken more pictures along the way. But. I think most of you know how to measure ingredients out. The picture above is of the dough already mixed.

Here’s the recipe with step by step instructions:

Sea sLime (Jello) Cookies

3/4 cup margarine
1/2 cup white sugar

Cream the margarine and sugar for about 2 minutes on low.

1 (3oz) pkg of lime Jello powder
2 eggs

Add jello powder and eggs to the creamed sugar mixture. Beat on low/medium for about 1 minute.

Add the following ingredients to the above mixture:

1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

Mix these until well combined. I then placed my cookie dough in the fridge for about 5-10 minutes to get it a bit stiff. Then I took it out and rolled the dough into round bites of dough. Roll in sugar if desired.
(about the size of a marble is recommended but mine were bigger) (See picture below)

DSCF5986

Then wet a fork with water and make tracks on the tops of the round bites of dough, by gently pushing down. I think I flattened a couple but, I baked them like that, they just came out a bit more crisp.

DSCF5987

Bake @ 350 degrees for 6-8 minutes. Bottoms will be golden brown.
Let cool 1 minute then remove and place on a cooling rack.
These freeze very well!
I just put a slice of bread in the container/bag as they were defrosting and them came out just as lovely and soft!

DSCF5985

I will definitely be making these sour cookie bites again! Looking forward to trying new flavors!

Recipe without detailed instructions:

Sea sLime Jello Cookies

3/4 margarin
1/2 cup white sugar
1 (3oz) pkg lime jello powder
2 eggs

1tsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp b.p
1tsp salt

Mix well. Roll into marble sized balls. Roll in sugar if desired. Flatten with fork. Bake 350 degrees for 6-8 minutes.

DSCF5982

*****Please note. I used 2 pkgs of jello powder and this made my cookies come out super sour and tangy..but…I liked them that way! Kids will probably like a more subtle flavor, so try your first batch following the instructions and then feel free to tweak the recipe to your tastes! 🙂 You could also add a bit of food coloring to brighten the color up a bit more.

About ChaosAndSilence

#100LBWeightLossJourney New to Blogging Newbie Gamer on Twitch. Avid Contester Mother to 2, Wife of 6 years. Baking, photography, dancing, hiking, etc.

Posted on September 5, 2013, in Pinterest Success Stories (And Fails), Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

KetchupMoms

All about kids and parents

Bestdayblogger

Be Beautiful Inside and Out!

Raindrops and Sunshine

A Lifestyle Family Friendly Blog, With A Touch Of Special Needs!

Canadian Gift Guide

Gift ideas you can actually buy in Canada

Mama Moose Contests & Reviews

Product Reviews with Green Family Living and a Contest or Two

Frugal Canadian Coupon Mom

DIY/Money Savers, Reviews, Recipes, Seaglass and more..

onmywaytoaten

My weightloss journey and my path to being a fit and healthy woman.

Adventures of a Military Family of 8

No Anchor Can Hold Us Down...

Carin Cress

Living a Healthy Life with Fibro & Endo

Momma on a Mission

This is me...What I do, who I am, and my hopes and dreams.

Chelsweets

A little bit Chelsey, a whole lot of sweet!

dukanchange

You can change: I can change.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

staceyaltamirano

a wife and mother living abroad

